Editing – Learning from an Oopsy

By Alan Eggleston

How timely to run into the article, “E is for Editing is Evil but Necessary in Blogging” by Amberr Meadows. This week, I am the poster child for this admonition.

Says Amberr in Part 5 of her 30-part “A to Z and Ultimate Blog Challenges” series (scroll down to get to the meat of the article), “Regardless of how flawless your writing may be, even if you are the most obnoxious stickler for grammar rules, you will need to edit your blog posts.” [Her bold.] She is right, as she continues, “Every single one of them, every time you write a new post. I even make a habit of checking through old posts when I have time, and guess what I always find? Yep. Small, annoying errors I probably would have caught before publishing, had I slowed down and edited the way I’ve found to be effective.”

My last post was “SEO – ‘White Hat’ or ‘Black Hat’?” I had written it a month ago. I re-read it two weeks ago. I added links and edited it this past week. The night before posting the work, I re-read it again and made some additional edits. Still, I missed two places where I had used “what” instead of “white” in “white hat.” How embarrassing. Fortunately, a colleague pointed it out and I corrected it.

As web editors, we are all familiar with the rush to publish. At Web Editors blog, our editors like for each other to review our articles and in a rush, I hadn’t done so this time. They would have caught this error that my eyes had missed several times. Had I done a careful proofreading before publishing, I should have caught it, too. I have learned – I always learn from my mistakes.

Amberr Meadows suggests four steps for writing and editing a blog and then recommends some tools for those with additional challenges. As with all getting-back-to-basics articles, this is a worthy read for all web editors and especially anyone prone to the occasional oopsy posting.

2 thoughts on “Editing – Learning from an Oopsy

  1. I hear you and absolutely emphatize with you. In the rush to publish, I have erred far too many times! Alas, after, my posts and articles are published and have gone out on rss feeds all over, I notice the glaring typo. I already feel better listening to you that it’s not just me and I’m sure you will get feedback from other writers as well.

    • Hi Gazalla, thank you for the reassuring comment. There are probably statistics somewhere showing that the farther we stray from process, the more likely we are to attract errors – a corollary to Murphy’s Law of some kind. It’s a subtle reminder that the rush to publish is just asking for trouble.
      Alan

Leave a Reply

