Shortie: How Do You Tweet?

According to a May 31 Pew Internet Report, “As of February 2012, some 15% of online adults use Twitter, and 8% do so on a typical day. Overall Twitter adoption remains steady, as the 15% of online adults who use Twitter is similar to the 13% of such adults who did so in May 2011. At the same time, the proportion of online adults who use Twitter on a typical day has doubled since May 2011 and has quadrupled since late 2010—at that point just 2% of online adults used Twitter on a typical day. The rise of smartphones might account for some of the uptick in usage because smartphone users are particularly likely to be using Twitter.”

It’s interesting that the growth is attributed to smartphone use. For individuals posting to Twitter, that makes sense. But for organizations, you would think staff would still be tied to computers, laptops, or tablets, unless they are tweeting remotely from a conference, tradeshow or event of some kind. It would be interesting to see what percentage of staff tweeting is done by smartphone vs. traditional avenues.

How much of your audience is on Twitter? How often do you tweet to your audience – daily, weekly, when news happens? Is it as useful a tool as Facebook or other social media for your organization? Are you seeing the kind of follower growth that is listed above? Most of all, do you and your audience typically access Twitter via smartphone? Please reply in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Shortie: How Do You Tweet?

  1. Interestingly enough, most of my clients are on Facebook and haven’t found the time to devote to Twitter. I am constantly on Twitter, both as a personal account and as a business account (@a_copywriter) and although I have over time done a varying amount of marketing on Twitter, I have done far more business over LinkedIn and Facebook than Twitter. I use my smartphone almost as often as my laptops to access the account, depending on where I am. As a freelance editor and writer, I am free to access it wherever I want, but having worked in the corporate world for 20-plus years, I know access can be limited by security conscious management and IT.

  2. Twitter is a very personal medium. People will follow a celebrity rather quicker than a corporation. If the corp provides timely information though, Twitter is very appropriate. In the UK, Chiltern Trains is an excellent feed to follow as they provide a rolling news service ideal for those trying to get home and no where near the office PC.

    I’ve not ye found it a great boon. Out theatre use it to echo Facebook feeds which does concentraite my mind to make sure those status updates are snappy !

  3. I much prefer Twitter over Facebook for business-related activity. As a freelancer, I’ve found it a good way to meet other freelancers (meeting virtually, that is) who have similar interests and niches. I’ve been contacted via LinkedIn by potential clients, and recruiters have reached out to me through LinkedIn and Twitter. I also run the Twitter account for a local chapter of the Association for Women in Communications. I’m on at least once a day, except weekends, and I access it through a computer (laptop). But I don’t have a smartphone–I use my laptop for pretty much everything. II haven’t been keeping a close eye on growth in followers–but now that you mention it, I think I’ll start! 🙂

Leave a Reply

